Tillamook County Emergency Communications District (Tillamook 9-1-1) is the product of the 1988 9-1-1 District formation.  In 1986 the Tillamook County Sheriff's Office began operation of the County's Primary Public Safety Answering Point and centralized multi-jurisdictional dispatch center.  After it was determined that this type of organizational structure was not a financially viable long term solution, the Tillamook County Board of Commissioners appointed a blue ribbon panel to explore alternative solutions.  In late 1988 the Tillamook County Emergency Communications District was approved by the voters and became the state's first 9-1-1 District.  The model has now been used to form Districts in Columbia and Klamath Counties.  Tillamook County Emergency Communications District, Oregon's first 9-1-1 Special District, is a unique entity in Oregon's governmental structure. This "uniqueness" is a product of the District's dynamic history and its innovative approach in delivering high-quality, high-efficiency services to its citizens.

The District serves all of Tillamook County, which is approximately 1,333 square miles and is home to a resident populations nearing 25,000. Located on the North Oregon Coast, Tillamook County sees an annual tourist population nearing 1,000,000 visitors. District Boundaries encompass the incorporated cities of Tillamook, Bay City, Garibaldi, Rockaway Beach, Wheeler, Nehalem, Manzanita, plus unincorporated portions of Tillamook County including Netarts, Oceanside, Beaver, Sandlake, Cloverdale, Pacific City, Hebo and Neskowin.

An elected five person Board of Directors governs the District. The District's communication center and administrative offices are centrally located in Tillamook.

The District employs ten full-time dispatchers.  All dispatchers are certified as Telecommunicators and Emergency Medical Dispatchers through the Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training. The District also employs a leadership team that consists of the District Administrator, Operations Manager and Administrative Assistant.

We dispatch primarily for:

  • Three law enforcement agencies:
    • Tillamook County Sheriff’s Office
    • Manzanita Department of Public Safety
    • Tillamook City Police
  • Seven fire agencies:
    • Nehalem Bay Fire
    • Rockaway Beach Fire
    • Garibaldi Fire
    • Bay City Fire
    • Netarts/Oceanside Fire
    • Tillamook Fire
    • Nestucca Rural Fire Protection District
  • One EMS Agency:
    • Adventist Health Tillamook
      • Manzanita Ambulance
      • Garibaldi Ambulance
      • Tillamook Ambulance
      • Pacific City Ambulance
  • We also serve as secondary dispatch for:
    • Oregon State Police
    • Bureau of Land Management
    • Oregon Department of Forestry
    • US Forest service
  • The District services another 76 secondary agencies